Home About Us Baby Pictures Bill Payment Contact Us Education & Events Employment Giving Opportunities Hospital Services Madison Services Physician Finder Visiting Info Women & Children
Community Health Initiative logo

In 1995, the Health Care Authority of the City of Huntsville commissioned a comprehensive community health assessment. The Authority appointed a Community Health Initiative committee to address the prioritized findings of this assessment. The committee is made up of volunteers representing a cross-section of the community and strives to fulfill the Community Health Initiative mission: To improve the health status of the citizens of Madison County through education, prevention and early detection of disease. In June of 1996, the first Community Health Initiative grants were made to address the community's priority health issues with hopes that a measurable, positive impact would be seen on the overall health of our community. Quite a success story has unfolded since that time, and now our community is being served in ways no one would have dreamed possible.

Proposal deadline for 2015 - 2016 grants: March 2015 (TBA)

Questions? Please contact the Community Health Initiative office at
(256) 265-8308.

2014-2015 Grant Recipients
2014 - 2015 recipients of Community Health Initiative

Non-profit agencies receiving funding from Community Health Initiative
in 2014 - 2015

Learn more about how the 2014-2015 grants will be used.

Community Health Initiative funding is provided by the Health Care Authority of Huntsville Hospital. Since its inception in 1996, more than $8.3 million has been awarded to 46 local agencies through the Community Health Initiative.

Community Health Initiative Committee Members

  • Greg Barnes
  • Philip W. Bentley Jr.
  • Michelle Jordan
  • Carl A. Grote Jr., M.D.
  • Gina Hannah
  • Sue Helms
  • Reverend John Herndon
  • Burr Ingram, Hospital Liaison
  • Kim Johnson
  • Karen Kiss, Project Coordinator
  • Beth Martin
  • Janet Neeley
  • Brian Patz, M.D.
  • Betty Peterson
  • Lawrence Robey, M.D.
  • Nicole Schroer
  • Judy Smith
  • Fariba Tabarrok
  • Dana Trulock
  • Jean Wessel Templeton, Chairman