Medical Staff Leadership

Michael McFadden MD
Michael D. McFadden, MD
Darrin L. Johnsonm MD
Darrin L. Johnson, MD
Paul B. Tabereaux, MD
Paul B. Tabereaux, MD

Medical Executive Committee

  • Michael D. McFadden, MD, President
  • Darrin L. Johnson, MD, Vice-President
  • Paul B. Tabereaux, MD, Secretary
  • Gregory W. Bouska, MD Department of Anesthesiology
  • Melanie B. Barnhart, MD, Department of Emergency Medicine
  • Shivani Malhotra, MD, Department of Family Medicine
  • Michael M. Butler, MD, Department of Medicine
  • Amy M. Takacs, MD, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
  • Clovis W. Pitchford, MD, Department of Pathology
  • Suzanne E. Rastorfer, MD, Department of Pediatrics
  • Donna J. Scott, MD, Department of Psychiatry
  • Thomas N. Owens, MD, Department of Radiology
  • Deepak Katyal, MD, Department of Surgery
  • Sudheer R. Kantharajpur, MD, Hospitalist Services
  • Jeffery S. Johnson, MD, Madison Hospital
  • Joseph L. Randall, MD, Ambulatory/Primary Care

Institutional Review Committee

The Institutional Review Committee is a committee of the Health Care Authority of the City of Huntsville. It is empowered by the Authority to review, evaluate, approve or disapprove any and all drugs, devices, procedures or studies for use on human subjects, which are considered to be experimental. It is also the responsibility of the Committee to provide administrative oversight to insure that procedures designed for the protection of patient rights are being effectively applied.

The Institutional Review Committee is comprised of 12 members (and alternatives) of various backgrounds and disciplines, including lay members from the community, medical staff physicians and hospital employees.

For further information regarding the Institutional Review Committee, please contact Allison Greene, IRC Coordinator, at (256) 265-6990 or email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Committee Members

  • Joe Campbell, Hospital Counsel
  • Jennifer A. Cox, MD, Pediatric Hematology-Oncology, St. Jude Clinic Affiliate Clinic at Huntsville Hospital for Women & Children
  • Robert W. Chappell, Jr., MD, Chief Medical Officer/Chief Quality Officer
  • John B. Cox, MD, Chair, Ophthalmologist
  • Karen Frith, PhD, RN, Professor, Associate Dean, Graduate Programs, UAH
  • James C. Gilbert, MD, Pediatric Surgeon
  • W. Herbert Haught, MD, Cardiologist, Heart Center, Inc.
  • Gregg Knowles, PharmD, Pharmacy
  • Alexis Galloway, RN, Nursing Administration
  • Marshall Schreeder, MD, Hematologist/Medical Oncologist, Clearview Cancer Institute
  • Rev. Murray Wilton, PhD, Clergy
  • Charles Wyman, PhD, Consultant, Electrical Engineer


  • Jeremy Ray, PharmD, Pharmacy
  • Kenneth Graves, Vice President, Legal Services and Corporate Compliance
  • Arin Zapf, RN, Nursing Administration